Getting Started

Welcome to Docket WP!

This guide will help you learn the basics of Docket WP so you can save time, improve efficiency, and make fewer mistakes.

You’ll Learn How to:

  • Take your first steps in getting the plugin installed
  • Create and manage lists
  • Create and manage tasks
  • Find help & support

Sound good? Let’s get started!

First Steps

The Docket WP plugin is available here, or directly from the WordPress repository. You can install and activate Docket by going to Plugins > Add New and searching for Docket WP.

Once your plugin is installed and activated, you’ll notice a small “Docket” button in the top right hand corner of your admin bar (right beside your username).

Click the Docket button and sign into your account using the email address and password you set during registration.

Sign In

If you’ve forgotten your password, just hit the “Forgot Your Password?” link at the bottom right corner of the sign in screen.

Docket WP is centered around two basic items: Lists and tasks. You can create as many lists as you’d like, and each list can contain any number of tasks which sit inside a list.

Creating and Managing Lists

To create a new list, click the “Create List” button from the welcome screen or click the “Menu” button and click “New List”.

You’ll be prompted to give your list a name, but don’t worry— you can edit the list name at any time. Type in your new list’s name and hit “Add List”.

Create New List
Create New List

To switch between lists, click the “Menu” button located at the top left corner of your Docket popup. The slideout menu will show you all the active lists on your website. Simply click the list title to active and switch to another list.

Switch Between Lists
Switch Between Lists

If you are done with a list, but want to keep it for your records, you can archive your list. This will take it out of your active lists, but keep it safe for your records. 

To archive a list, click the List Options Menu (the three dots to the right of the list title) and click “Archive List”.

Archive List
Archive List

To access your archived lists, click the Menu button at the top left  of your Docket popup and click “Archived Lists”. This will show you all of your archived lists for this install. Click the “refresh” icon to the right of your list title to re-active your archived list.

Access Archived List
Access Archived List

If you no longer need a list, you can put it in your trash can by clicking the List OPtions Menu (the three dots to the right of the list title) and click “Trash List”.

Trash List 1
Trash List 1

Your trashed lists will remain in your trash can for 30 days or until you permanently delete them

To recover a trashed list, click the Menu button at the top left of your Docket popup and click “Trashed Lists”. This will show you all of your trashed lists for this install. Click the “refresh” icon to the right of your list title to re-active your trashed list or the red trash can icon to delete it permanently.

Recover Trashed List
Recover Trashed List

If you create a list you want to be able to reuse on other websites, you can save it to your Personal Cloud Library. Lists in your Personal Cloud Library can be accessed from anywhere you login to your Docket WP account.

To save a list to your Personal Cloud Library, open the list and click the upload to cloud icon to the right of your list title.

The system will prompt you to give your list a name and description (optional) then click “Save to Cloud Library” and you’re done!

Save to Personal Cloud Library

To edit a list you’ve saved to your Personal Cloud Library, click the Menu button at the top left corner of the Docket popup, and click “Saved Lists”. 

This screen will show you all of your saved lists in your personal library. 

To edit a list, hover over the list and click the pencil icon next to the list title. Everything within the list is editable and automatically saved as you make changes.

These changes will be reflected across your entire account so your edited version is available for import from any website.

Edit a Saved List
Edit a Saved List

To delete a saved list in your personal library, click the Menu button at the top left corner of the Docket popup and click “Saved Lists”.

This screen will show you all of your saved lists in your personal library.

To delete a list, hover over the list and click the trash can icon next to the list title. This will delete your saved list permanently from your entire account.

Trash a Saved List
Trash a Saved List

To import a list from your personal library, click the Menu button at the top left of the Docket popup, and click the “Import List” button.

From the next screen, choose “My Saved Lists”.

This screen will show you all of your saved lists in your personal library.

To import a list, click the “Import” button within the list you want to import.

Import Saved List from Personal Cloud
Import Saved List from Personal Cloud

Your Docket WP account allows you to access prebuilt lists we, and creators from the community have created for you.

To import a list from the official library, click the Menu button at the top left of the Docket popup and click the “Import List” button.

From the next screen, choose “Official Library”.

This screen will show you all of the available lists in the Official library. 

To import a list, click the “Import” button within the list you want to import.

You can edit the Official lists to personalize them and save a copy to your Personal Cloud Library.

Import from Official Library
Import from Official Library

Creating and Managing Tasks

To add tasks to your list, click the “Add task” button and give your task a title and press the blue “Add Task” button.

Add Task
Add Task

You can add as many tasks as you’d like to each list!

If you need to provide more detail or instructions for your task, you can add notes to any task. 

After you type in your task title you can tab or click into the notes section and add notes. The notes area has a TinyMCE editor that will allow you to add bold, italics, blockquotes, ordered and unordered lists, hyperlinks, and code snippets.  

To see the TinyMCE editor just highlight the text you want to change and a small toolbar will appear.

Add Notes
Add Notes

As you work through your processes or to-do’s you can mark tasks completed by clicking on the circle icon next to the task title.

This will move your tasks into the “Done” folder, which you can view by clicking the “Done” icon located just below your task.

Mark Task Complete
Mark Task Complete

If you marked a task completed by mistake, or just need to activate it again, you can click the checkmark icon next to your completed tasks title to move it back to your active tasks.

Mark as Incomplete
Mark as Incomplete

You can reorder your tasks by hovering over the left side of the task to reveal the reorder icon. Simply click and drag the task to the order you want. Your order will be automatically saved.

Reorder Tasks
Reorder Tasks

To edit a task you’ve already added, hover over the task title and click the pencil icon to the right of the task title. You can then edit both your task title and the task notes.

Edit Task
Edit Task

To delete a task, hover over the task title and you’ll see a trash can icon appear on the right side. Click the trash icon and your task will be removed from your list.

Trash Task
Trash Task

If you delete a task by mistake, or just want to recover something you thought you wanted to delete, you can recover your trashed tasks for up to 30 days. 

Click the List Options Menu located to the right of your task title and click “Un-Trash Tasks”. This will show you a list of all your trashed tasks within that list. Click the refresh icon to un-trash your list.

Un Trash Task
Un Trash Task

Help & Support

If you’re feeling stuck, don’t worry— we’re here to help!

You can visit our help desk at https://help.docketwp.com and find how-to guides, and access to our support desk via the chat icon at the bottom right corner of any screen.

If you prefer good ol’ fashioned email, just send us a message at [email protected]

Play Video